Things I Shouldn’t Say But Will Anyway

The holidays are over. Time to get cranky again.

  • How brazen of movie theaters to bombard us with commercials and dare call it “extra content.”
  • The powers that be at the NRA will not support gun control until some of their own family members are randomly gunned down.
  • The Republicans who say we should put boots on the ground in the Middle East haven’t visited a veterans’ hospital recently to see the damage, both physically and mentally, that war does to young men.
  • And oh by the way, the young men we send to war are predominantly poor, of color, and uneducated – that is, the kind of people who are least equipped to deal with its ravages.
  • I don’t remember giving Microsoft permission to pester me with reminders to update to Windows 10.
  • When I saw the viral video of the burglar who also helped himself to the orange juice in the refrigerator, I was struck less by the scandalous behavior of the thief than by how much I liked the way the victim’s kitchen was laid out.
  • The terrorists in the Middle East wouldn’t have the influence they have today if oil weren’t such a cash cow. Imagine the world if, after the first oil embargo in 1973, we had been courageous enough to start developing alternative forms of energy.
  • I can’t believe there are smart people in the world (my clients among them) who think “premise” is the singular of “premises.” Premise is the foundation for an argument. Premises is a singular noun meaning location.
  • Donald Trump is leading the polls in the Republican party because the Republican party has systemically driven out everyone except its fringe (I speak from experience).
  • If Trump is going to promote himself as a great businessman, and decry government intervention, then how does he explain the fact that companies he’s led have taken advantage of federal bankruptcy laws four times? Perhaps the Republicans should nominate him. Maybe being on the wrong end of a 50-state landslide will motivate some change within the party.
  • It shouldn’t be called a smartphone if it makes me feel so stupid.
  • Every time there’s a terrorist attack, there’s a call for more police protection. I fear that this is only going to take us toward more of a police state, with fewer freedoms – which, sadly, is exactly the kind of world the terrorists want us to have.
  • It scares me that when I read a list of Bernie Sanders’ campaign issues (income equality, infrastructure investment, climate change, getting big money out of politics), I agree with most of them.
  • I’m looking forward to the day when either my handwriting or my memory is so bad, I no longer have to send out Christmas cards.
  • Sometimes when I get on the freeway, I think that everyone – regardless of nationality – has simply forgotten how to drive.
  • Lost in all the news about massacres in Colorado Springs and San Bernardino was the story of a waitress who was shot because she asked a customer to stop smoking. Does that now fall under the gun nuts’ definition of terrorism?
  • Why is it always the first person in line at a stoplight who’s last to notice it’s turned green?
  • Don’t you just hate it when you unsubscribe from a mailing list, you get a confirmation saying you’ve unsubscribed, and you keep getting crap anyway? (I’m talking about you, Fandango.)
  • Don’t you hate it when people insert the word “just” into a sentence when it’s just unnecessary?
  • Don’t the Republican presidential candidates understand that when they talk about rounding up minority groups and refusing people entry to the U.S., they sound like mid-20th century demagogues?
  • The last two times I’ve been on United flights with brand-new planes (Boeing 737-900s or Embraer 175s), it was clear that the designers had never actually thought to consult the people who either stand (the flight attendants) or sit (the passengers) in those planes as to whether the design was user-friendly or not.
  • Am I the only one who wishes the Kardashians had never bred?
About middleagecranky

The Middle-Age Cranky blog is written by baby boomer Howard Baldwin, who finds the world, while occasionally wondrous, increasingly aggravating.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I Shouldn’t Say But Will Anyway

  1. And why are so many people who post on Facebook enjoying such intrepid and luxury-filled lives, when mine is so pedestrian?

  2. Good list. I confess to having used “on premise” because that was a client’s preferred phrase. (The customer is always right, and all that.) I wonder if the wrong version came from the shorthand “on prem,” but regardless of its origin, it has now become generally used. (And check definition three of “premise” on Merriam-Webster dot com.)

    Anyway, I’m probably going to continue to leverage the word. 🙂

Leave a Reply

