Random Thoughts on a Summer’s Day

Why do people buy sports cars the color of school buses?

It’s been almost 30 years, and I still don’t understand what
happened in the buying and selling frenzy at the end of Trading Places.

There’s a new startup called Room 77 that lets you see a hotel room before you book it. Having spent too many nights in noisy hotel rooms, I’d rather hear it than see it.

When a designer creates a preliminary layout, she puts in fake text to indicate its location. The text is in Latin, so why is the process called “greeking”?

Notre Dame’s name is French, so why is its football team the Fighting Irish?

I’m not sure who’s turning out to be a worse president – Jimmy Carter or Barack Obama.

In ancient Rome, there was no punctuation, but the language was clear from its
grammatical structure. The more we print long URLs – like www.icanhazcheesebuger.com – which also don’t have punctuation, the closer we return to that ancient time.

I made a list and realized that between rafting accidents, pulmonary emboli, an aborted landing at Houston Intercontinental one stormy night, and other harrowing moments, I’ve cheated death at least four times in my life. I hope no one’s keeping track.

Anne Francis, who died earlier this year, was my first big celebrity crush. After I wrote her on my birthday, when her private-eye show Honey West was on the air, she sent me
the above photo and signed it, “Best wishes, Anne Francis.” Never got anything
like that from Maureen McCormick.

So are the clocks on Wall Street running a week behind?

Another recession? I haven’t recovered from the last one yet.

I know that spring is supposed to be the time of new beginnings, but right now, with the launches of Project Runway, the NFL, and college football here or looming, I’m
just delirious with delight.

But if the producers of AMC’s The Killing think that – after a season of more red herrings than an Alaskan fishing catch – we’re going to sign on for a second season, they’re really,
really mistaken.

As the tenth anniversary of 9/11 approaches, few remember that Bronco Ed McCaffrey broke his leg in the Monday Night Football game against the New York Giants the evening before.

During the last Super Bowl broadcast, the announcers noted that armed forces were watching the game in 140 countries. Since there are approximately 140 countries in the entire world, I couldn’t understand how we had military bases everywhere (though it would explain why the defense budget was out of whack). It wasn’t until last week that a friend of mine allayed my concerns with three little words: “Not bases – embassies.”

We were at a San Jose shopping area last week when we saw a newly empty storefront. My first thought was, “They’ve already closed the Borders.” My second thought: “Isn’t that a line from The Sound of Music?”

About middleagecranky

The Middle-Age Cranky blog is written by baby boomer Howard Baldwin, who finds the world, while occasionally wondrous, increasingly aggravating.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Thoughts on a Summer’s Day

  1. Miles says:

    I am interested in knowing how Obama has been plunging over a cliff toward Carter in light of the “me holdum my position always and forever” Congress. Despite, or because, of being surrounded by Fox News watchers at work, I’m interested in hearing an intelligent opinion on the subject. I’m an Independent, and have voted so since I became a legal person.

    • I have no idea. George W. Bush was elected with no mandate and governed as if he had one. Obama was elected with a mandate and governs as if he has none. Maybe he’s saving it for the second term (and mark my words, there will be a second term).

Leave a Reply

