Oh, The Places You’ll Go

I have an older friend, an aerospace engineer by profession, who spent most of his career working on top-secret rocket projects for the Department of Defense. At the height of the Cold War, if you called his office, they would disavow any knowledge of his existence, much less his actions.

As it happened, he met and married a woman whose family had escaped from Hungary during the height of World War II. Although she still had cousins in Budapest, there was no way in the world the U.S. government was ever going to give her, much less him, dispensation to travel behind the Iron Curtain.

(For those of you who don’t recognize the terms “Cold War” and “Iron Curtain,” savor your youth.)

But then came the Fall of the Wall and my friend’s eventual retirement from all things jet-propelled, and to my utter delight, he and his wife finally departed this past spring on a long-delayed vacation to Budapest. His trip reminded me of all the restricted or inconvenient places I’d like to see before my traveling days are up. Some of them, of course, are more likely than others.

Havana, Cuba. On New Years’ Eve, 1958, Fidel Castro’s revolutionary forces took over the Caribbean island of Cuba, inciting an embargo that is still in place today. There are lots of ramifications to this, but the one that intrigues me the most is the fact that the streets of Havana are apparently a rolling car show of 1950s American automobiles, nursed along long after they would have been abandoned here in the U.S. I sense that visiting Havana would be like stepping back into time.

Damascus, Syria. The capital of Syria has a distinction that entices someone who studied as much Latin and Greek as I did – it’s the oldest continuously inhabited city in the world. Although archaeologists have estimated that people settled in the area as far back as 9000 B.C., it wasn’t until 2000 BC that it began to have influence as a city. I’m not sure how much of that era is preserved, the way it is in Athens or Rome, but I would still – if I wasn’t such a wimp about worrying about opening my mouth and speaking English deep in the Middle East – want to walk down an ancient street.

Srinigar, Kashmir. My first job out of college was at a company that published adventure travel guidebooks, magazines, and newsletters. One of the most intriguing places we wrote about (but never went, of course) was Kashmir, a stunningly beautiful mountainous region in northern India, and especially the floating houseboats on Srinigar’s Dal Lake. Unfortunately, both India and Pakistan claim Kashmir, and my idea of a vacation destination does not have soldiers aiming rifles at the tourists. Rumor has it that tensions are easing in the area, so that day may come.

Casablanca, Morocco. Truth be told, I visited Casablanca back in 1984, on assignment for another travel magazine (it was the first foreign country I visited besides Mexico and Canada). Although most of the Humphrey Bogart movie was filmed on either the Warner Brothers’ lot or at the Burbank Airport, the winding alleyways of the medina were wonderfully vibrant and reminiscent of the movie. The trip encompassed all of Morocco, and, if possible, Marrakech’s medina was even more dazzling. For the same reasons I’m reluctant to go to Syria, I’m hesitant to go back to Morocco.

I know what you’re thinking – that, with enough imagination and the right tour guides, I could figure out a way to get to any of these destinations any time I wanted. But at my age, I’m nowhere near as daring as those poor hikers who accidentally crossed the unmarked border between Iraq and Iran and ended up on trial in the latter.

One of two things needs to happen – either I need more of an adventurous spirit, or there needs to be more peace in the world. I could work toward cultivating the former, but I’d prefer to have the latter.

What’s your dream off-limits destination?

About middleagecranky

The Middle-Age Cranky blog is written by baby boomer Howard Baldwin, who finds the world, while occasionally wondrous, increasingly aggravating.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oh, The Places You’ll Go

  1. Miles says:

    I’d have to say the ISS, Mars or the Moon.

  2. Heidi says:

    There are places I’d like to go (e.g., China, India, Africa, and quite a few islands in the Indo-Pacific & Caribbean) that are “off-limits” to me because I can’t bear to see people living in abject poverty, animals suffering abuse or neglect, and/or the environment being trashed. Either I need a harder heart, or there needs to be more social justice and compassion in the world; I would prefer the latter.

  3. Delia Lloyd says:

    Love this list, Howard. I’ve only been to Havana and it is well worth it, for lots of reasons. Go there first, before it all changes…it’s very close! Personally, I’d like to go to Casablanca as well, and I don’t think it would be all that dangerous. People go there all the time from Europe and we’re hoping to hit Marrakesh one of these days. I’d also like to go to North Korea-just to see it-but somehow I don’t see that happening.

  4. Cindy Costell says:

    Howard, you *can* go to Cuba ! I went in Spring Break of 1998, flying with a bunch of Canadians from Ontario. Officials in Cuba knew not to stamp my passport. If it isn’t possible to wangle a deal with a travel agent with Canadian colleagues, you could go with Reality Tours out of SF. Pricey but the proceeds go to benefit Cuba. http://www.globalexchange.org/tours/byCountry.html#2
    (note emphasis on health programs, arts, &c)
    A group wouldn’t let you see the one-on-one that I saw – but a visit in any guise would be unforgettable. On your own, you may be asked right on the street if you’d like to spend the night in a Havana apartment as I did, and spend the night talking with the wife about why they had an empty bedroom to rent (their daughter had escaped to the USA without warning them…)

    What off-limits place would I like to visit ? Well, go back to Cuba. Meanwhile, there’s also a
    dangerous box of chocolates hidden on the top shelf in my kitchen cupboards…

  5. Pingback: Tips For Adulthood: Five Things To Do Before You Die | RealDelia

  6. Markus Berg says:

    Walden Two

Leave a Reply

